Four Modes Scams on Facebook

Bookmark and Share

Facebook is currently the largest social networking with the "population" of more than 800 million accounts. Every day, Facebook is visited by 400 million users who relentlessly pressing "like" and posting status updates.

Facebook is not only a major media to share ideas and interact with friends, but a place of interest by any attacks of cyber criminals.

By taking advantage and the confidence of users in their network connection, the virtual world players spread malicious code and send spam messages using social engineering tricks to spread their message to thousands of unsuspecting users.
Here are the four most common scams on Facebook:

1. Like / Share Feedback
Type: Social Engineering
Results: Users liked the link

Like it or share feedback that occurs when a hacker act as a reliable source and ask the user clicks the "like" on the page updates, photos, video, or status to access special content (usually sensationalist).

When the user clicks "like", chances are directed to a survey that requires the user to fill out some personal information, sign up for a subscription service, or they even posted the link several times on Facebook.

2. 'Like' Clickjacking
Type: Social engineering / fraud
Results: Users liked the link

"Like" clickjacking happens when a hacker presents to view a video with a button "play" is simple, but actually there is a frame that is not visible on the page with hidden buttons "like".

When users "like" the page, posting status updates appear on the walls of other users, leading to their friends curious and tempted to visit the page.

3. Tagging
Type: Spam
Results: A spam message is displayed

Tagging occurs when a user upload an ad or image and then characterized the series of random people. If the setting allows users to notify when the user is marked, the user will receive an e-mail asking to see pictures. People who are tagged and his friends click on the marked and routed to the spam.

4. Phishing
Type: Social Engineering
Results: It can read and control access to user account

Phishing is a fraudulent message that tells users that their Facebook account suspended, or take the form of a pending friend request. When the user clicks on that link, it will take the user to a fake login page for the user account information.

Fake login page will record the user ID and password, then use them to gain unrestricted access to the user account, and will allow detailed information to the user's password for other online activities such as internet banking.

Prevention
After knowing the modes of fraud that may be made by internet criminals, Facebook users are expected to avoid things that hurt. Norton recommends the following tips for users to stay safe on social networking sites:

  • Do not talk, or accept friendship invitations from unknown senders in social networking, IM, online forums, or cyberspace.
  • Do not post your home address, phone number, picture, or other personal information about yourself on a public website.
  • Make sure you have a strong password (not the pet's name, birthday or address) and did not notify anyone.
  • Create a group of friends, relatives, or other special sub-group of friends on a social networking platform as well as share photos, videos, and comments on a limited group.
  • Restrict access to your profile of your search and make sure you remove any unwanted applications or restrict the access of others to your information.
  • Make sure you choose the most secure setting, ie https, and get notifications of new device account access.
  • Maintaining a browser up-to-date and operating systems.
  • Using free online tools like Norton Safe Web Lite which provide a safer search experience to warn you about dangerous sites right on the search results, so you can search, browse, and shop online without worry.

{ 0 comments... Views All / Send Comment! }

Post a Comment